February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge - UPDATED WITH WINNERS

Moderator: ACOT Employee

User avatar
rachel0017
Cherry Blossom
Posts: 476
Layouts: 236

February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge - UPDATED WITH WINNERS

Post by rachel0017 » Fri Jan 31, 2020 5:05 pm

Whew! Thank you so much to EVERYONE who participated this month! I think this was a record for the Book Lover's Challenge! 
The winner of the $5 ACOT gift card is: #24 - Sandi0805
And the winner of the RAK is: #7 - emmapaige
Congratulations!


For fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, here is your newest must-read psychological thriller: The Silent Patient by Alex Michaelides. The Silent Patient is the story of Alicia and Gabriel Berenson - two artists with a seemingly perfect life. Alicia is a painter, whose career has just begun to take off, and Gabriel is an in-demand fashion photographer. One night, Gabriel arrives home late from a photo shoot and, for reasons no one knows or can understand, Alicia shoots him five times in the face, and then never says another word. Theo Faber is a psychotherapist who is fascinated with Alicia’s case and, determined that he is the one who holds the key to unlock Alicia’s mind and voice, gets a job at the institution where Alicia has been sentenced to live out her days. As Theo digs deeper into Alicia’s life and psyche, he is forced to face his own demons from the past until their lives collide in unexpected ways. 

Image

OPTION 1: The...Patient
As Alicia is a patient for pretty much the entirety of the book, as an homage to her, Option 1 is all about being a patient. Make a page about a time you, or someone you know, was a patient. Broken bone? Stitches? Bad cold? Trip to the dentist? Visiting the vet? Anything goes, as long as the feature of the page is of someone being a patient.

OPTION 2: Groups of Five
Alicia sets the events of the book into motion when she shoots Gabriel five times, so for Option 2, we’re going to  focus on the number five. Choose ONE of the following five options, and please note, it should be EXACTLY five of whatever is being asked for - no more, no less:
  • 5 different patterns of paper
  • the number 5, as part of your title
  • 5 sentences of journaling
  • 5 photos
  • one photo with 5 people in it (note, this should be PEOPLE - furry friends not allowed on this one)
Image
Sample for Option 2: 5 different patterns of paper

The Fine Print:
1. HAVE FUN MAKING YOUR PROJECT!
2. Entries open to new projects - paper, digital, & card making.
3. May be combined with one other challenge that allows it.
4. Due February 29th, at 11:59 PM.
5. One lucky winner, chosen at random, will receive a $5 ACOT gift card from us!
6. Up to 3 entries permitted per month.
7. A RAK is awarded to a second winner if there are more than 15 unique entries (not including bonuses) during the month.

Participants:
1. ajmaluck
2. Becky Bitting
3. blfonty
4. love2stamp
5. Deanna13
6. LoreenC
7. emmapaige
8. shoorn
9. StacyLee
10. Charleneanne
11. mrozwood
12. karen c.
13. lissahope26
14. ScrappyDistractions
15. keatonsgtgram
16. karen c.
17. scrappinmom99
18. ScrappyDistractions
19. joannie
20. Scrapqueen141
21. joannie
22. JAire
23. Sandi0805
24. Sandi0805
25. Sandi0805
26. MTCanuk
27. blbabe1234
28. LoreenC
29. blfonty
30. Deanna13
31. treyaut
32. Deanna13
33. ajmaluck
34. keatonsgtgram
Last edited by rachel0017 on Sun Mar 01, 2020 6:16 pm, edited 10 times in total.

User avatar
ajmaluck
Cherry Picker
Posts: 671
Layouts: 117

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by ajmaluck » Fri Jan 31, 2020 10:54 pm

I did option 2 for the challenge.

Image
ImageImageImage Image


ajmaluck.blogspot.com
(working on it, not really sure what I am doing yet)

User avatar
emmapaige
Cherry Jubilee
Posts: 14894
Layouts: 1299
Location: Eagleville PA

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by emmapaige » Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:42 am

I loved Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train so I’ll look into your recommendation. I have an idea what I’m going to do for this challenge. Love your pretty sample.
** Chris **

My blog: http://mommomandpoppop.blogspot.com/

Image  ImageImageImage
 

User avatar
1scrappymom
Cherry Bomb
Posts: 3762
Layouts: 584

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by 1scrappymom » Sat Feb 01, 2020 8:15 pm

Well I'm currently broken ( ankle) so this is the perfect time for this challenge.
~Shannon
My Blog -->  blinnsblog
 

User avatar
ratgirl
Sweet Cherry Pie
Posts: 1053
Layouts: 67
Location: Raleigh, NC

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by ratgirl » Sat Feb 01, 2020 9:48 pm

The plot sounds so much like it would be a great next season of "The Sinner". Very much along the lines of the last two, down to the forensic psychiatrist. Such a great show! 

I'm looking forward to trying the challenge. I spend way too much of my time being a patient. Sounds neat.

User avatar
karen c.
Sweet Cherry Pie
Posts: 1338
Layouts: 596
Location: South West Florida

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by karen c. » Sat Feb 01, 2020 10:37 pm

Oh I LOVE those two books. I will definitely give this one a read!
Image          Image

User avatar
Becky Bitting
Cherry Blossom
Posts: 138
Layouts: 350
Location: Georgia

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by Becky Bitting » Sun Feb 02, 2020 1:11 pm

I chose to use 5 photos. 
Baking Together
Image
Visit Me on YouTube Here

User avatar
blfonty
Cherry Cola
Posts: 5013
Layouts: 637
Location: East Tennessee

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by blfonty » Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:32 pm

Option 2: Used 5+ patterned papers.

Image

Also submitted to February 3 In A Row.
 
blfonty a.k.a. Bonnie     

Image     Image     

User avatar
blbabe1234
Cherry Bark
Posts: 65061
Layouts: 2906
Location: Corpus Christi, TX

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by blbabe1234 » Mon Feb 03, 2020 1:35 pm

Super cute layout and love your challenge
~ Brandy Williams ~


Image 
Image 

Visit my blog - Brandy's Lab

User avatar
love2stamp
Cherry Cropper
Posts: 10325
Layouts: 791
Location: Nebraska

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by love2stamp » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:15 am

I chose option 2- 5 different patterned papers
Image
ImageImageImageImage

User avatar
JillinIN
Cherry Garcia
Posts: 4419
Layouts: 363
Location: Indiana

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by JillinIN » Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:35 pm

I haven't done the challenge yet, but I read the book! This is at least the second book I've read because of your challenge. I loved it!!! I can't wait for next month's book!
I have the perfect pictures for this challenge!
Update: I can't find my photos! :( I was just looking through them the other day and don't know where I stashed them.
Jill
 ImageImage

User avatar
Deanna13
Cherry Crush
Posts: 35239
Layouts: 3201
Location: Southeastern Ohio

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by Deanna13 » Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:06 am

Here's mine using Option #2 5 different patterns of paper. Each of the circles are different papers, the vertical striped paper, and the background. 😊

I combined with the Alphabet Challenge.

Photos of some of the food at dinner one night on our July 2018 Cruise. 💖

Good Eats
Image
 ImageImageImage

Visit my Scrap Blog - Moments to Cherish Image

User avatar
LoreenC
Cherry Bing
Posts: 2107
Layouts: 504
Location: Arizona

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by LoreenC » Wed Feb 05, 2020 8:01 pm

Option #2,  exactly 5 people in top photo!
Image
ImageImageImage

User avatar
emmapaige
Cherry Jubilee
Posts: 14894
Layouts: 1299
Location: Eagleville PA

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by emmapaige » Fri Feb 07, 2020 1:39 pm

This is mine using Option #1 - The Patient. My poor hubby has been in the hospital and/or ER way too many times. But he keeps his sense of humor and every time he's there he jokes with the staff that he should earn frequent flyer miles because he is there so often.

Image
** Chris **

My blog: http://mommomandpoppop.blogspot.com/

Image  ImageImageImage
 

User avatar
shoorn
Cherry Bing
Posts: 2925
Layouts: 1604
Location: Livingston,Texas but we are often on the Road

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by shoorn » Sat Feb 08, 2020 4:31 pm

One from me - Option 2 - 5 sentences of journaling

Image
Link to LO
Hi everyone!    Image   My name is Susan and I love to scrapbook!

 

User avatar
rachel0017
Cherry Blossom
Posts: 476
Layouts: 236

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by rachel0017 » Sun Feb 09, 2020 11:02 am

JillinIN wrote:
Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:35 pm
I haven't done the challenge yet, but I read the book! This is at least the second book I've read because of your challenge. I loved it!!! I can't wait for next month's book!
I have the perfect pictures for this challenge!
Update: I can't find my photos! :( I was just looking through them the other day and don't know where I stashed them.

Oh no! I'm sad that you can't find your photos, but I'm thrilled to hear that you read and loved this book, and moreover, that you read it as a result of my recommendation! I'm always so steeped in children's books because of my job, but I'm trying really hard this year to read at least one "grown up" book each month. I've already started the one I'm thinking about for the March challenge, so we'll see how it goes!

User avatar
StacyLee
Cherry Bing
Posts: 2598
Layouts: 559
Location: SW Florida

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by StacyLee » Sun Feb 09, 2020 5:58 pm

Fun challenge, Rachel & I love your book suggestion!  I really enjoyed Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train, so I'll have to check it out!  I hope this counts, because after putting it together I wondered if my grid background technically counts as a 6th patterned paper.  I very, very rarely use cardstock for backgrounds so didn't think about that until it was all done LOL  I used 1. blue at the top, 2. green, 3. arrows, 4. stripe, 5. chevron. Also combined with the Guest Designer challenge #4
Image
 
Stacy
Visit my blog - #InMyLife

Image   Image

 

User avatar
Charleneanne
Cherry Delight
Posts: 30110
Layouts: 1332
Location: Central Valley California

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by Charleneanne » Sun Feb 09, 2020 6:02 pm

I used the number 5       My DGD fifth birthday party.
Image
ImageCharleneanne

User avatar
mrozwood
Cherry Berry
Posts: 827
Layouts: 151
Location: scrap desk

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by mrozwood » Mon Feb 10, 2020 5:02 pm

I chose option 2 and did 5 pics.
Image
~Melanie

It's ok, I scrapbook.

User avatar
karen c.
Sweet Cherry Pie
Posts: 1338
Layouts: 596
Location: South West Florida

Re: February 2020 Book Lover’s Challenge

Post by karen c. » Mon Feb 10, 2020 8:00 pm

 Five pattern papers. Brick,black strip,diamond,paper under my photo and paper under my journaling.
Image
Image          Image

Post Reply

Return to “Contests & Challenges”