Save an extra 10% on your order! Use Code JANUARY10
Profile of Scrap Bug

About Me

Hi. My name is Melissa and I'm a wife of 25 years and a mom to a boy and a girl.

Derek is 23 and graduated in December 2017 from TAMIU with a degree in biology. Michaela (Micki) is 21 and was at TAMIU, but transferred this fall to UTSA in San Antonio - she is a junior and is working on her engineering degree.

My husband Chad and I are both Federal workers - he works harder and longer than I do. :) We moved to a border city in Texas about 11 years ago for his job. We are from Oregon, so it has been a big adjustment and change for all of us - especially the kids.

We love our animals - we have 2 boy dogs - our grumpy old Beagle Clue is 15 years old and our sweet Golden Retriever puppy Loki turned a year old the end of July. In October of 2017 we lost our beloved most wonderful dog ever, our sweet Golden Retriever heart dog Jax at the age of 7 yrs./2mos. old to Hemangiosarcoma of the heart. That loss has just been devastating and we will forever feel the sting and sorrow of missing him. We have a Persian girl kitty named Jazmin(Jazzy)(11-12 yrs), we got her from a Persian rescue center. She went missing 2 days after losing Jax, and after 17 days and pretty much giving up hope, somebody noticed her and matched her to a local FB lost/group I had posted on. She was stolen and had a strange collar on. Now we are careful to keep an eye on her and not let her escape outdoors. We have one more kitty - a Blue British Shorthair kitten named Axel. He is a year and a half now and is the most precious, loving good kitty. We all just love him so much.

Our interests have changed in the past year and half from boating activities to rv-ing, as we just bought our first travel trailer a little over a year ago. We love weekend getaways, going to the coast/beach regularly. We do a lot of house and home improvement projects. Oh, and we like to cruise also. Just getting away for long weekends and vacations in general.

In addition to scrapbooking, I like reading, quilting, sewing, machine embroidery, dollhouse miniatures. I even dabble a little in knitting, beading, painting - no craft projects are off limits for me. I am involved in church activities with small groups and children's ministries for the 3 and 4 year olds.

As far as scrapbooking projects and layouts - I have many many years to "catch up" on. I'm pretty much done with my kids' baby and toddler years, but have many school pictures, holidays, vacations, etc. to still scrap. 4th of July is probably my favorite holiday to scrap, but I like them all. I still have Grand Canyon pics, Camping pics, family reunion pics, 3 cruise vacations, a Tennessee trip and lots of trips back home to Oregon to scrap as far as vacations go.

I still have my son's graduation pics from 2013 to scrap (orange and white colors), and now my daughter's as well. Oh, and add son's college graduation to that list as well. LOL
Updated - November 9, 2018.

Screenname:ScrappyBugGallery Submissions: 234 View My Gallery
Location:South TexasGallery Comments: 2114
Display Name:Scrap BugArticles: 0
Birthday:March 10Forum Posts: 3827 View My Posts
Product Reviews: 0
View My Wishlist
Send PM